Condensed A-League season to play out mostly in NSW hub

  • Almost all games to be played in NSW once season resumes
  • Game to be played almost every day for a month

Melbourne Victory players train

Melbourne Victory players train ahead of their season restarting game against Western United on 16 July.
Photograph: Michael Dodge/AAP

A-League clubs know when they will be playing their remaining games of the 2019-20 season but several matches are yet to have a confirmed venue.

The schedule for the remaining 27 matches of the regular season as well as finals was released by Football Federation Australia on Tuesday.

The league, suspended since late March due to the Covid-19 pandemic, will restart on 16 July with a match between Melbourne Victory and Western United.

That game is most likely to be played at Melbourne’s AAMI Park but the venue has not been confirmed due to the state’s latest coronavirus outbreak.

Six other matches featuring the league’s three Victorian clubs are also yet to have confirmed venues.

Adelaide United’s game with league-leaders Sydney FC on 6 August remains without a confirmed venue.

“As we are a truly national game, the current border controls means that some of the match day venues may need to change,” FFA head of leagues Greg O’Rourke said.

“However, we have secured venues in both a NSW hub model and a hybrid hub model, which has most games in NSW but allows for a few games in other states.”

Almost all of the matches will be played in NSW at Bankwest Stadium, Jubilee Stadium, ANZ Stadium, Newcastle’s McDonald Jones Stadium and Gosford’s Central Coast Stadium.

Brisbane will resume their campaign against Adelaide at CBUS Super Stadium on the Gold Coast on 19 July before heading to NSW to play out their remaining fixtures.

Wellington Phoenix and Perth Glory are set to play their remaining games in the NSW hub.

Apart from 29 July, one match has been schedule to be played every day across the 16 July to 12 August period. Finals will begin on 15 August with the grand final slated for 23 August.